The 10 Rules of Fangirling Like a Pro

The 10 Rules of Fangirling Like a Pro…at first glance one may think “where do these chicks get off?” And that’s a valid thought. But let me say these rules — and honestly they’re more like guidelines, as those scallywags in Pirates of the Caribbean say– have been curated, tested, and implemented for by yours truly for years now.

Over the years throughout the successes and failures (boy, are there failures. And witnesses. And awkward photos), I learned from each occasion and started implementing these little nuggets of know-how at each event. These rules really crystallized in college. When I went to shows with my friends they became part of the routine too; I loved that I was helping to facilitate an experience they wouldn’t have without my tips and tricks.

Now as a professional in Los Angeles in the film industry I’ve seen this world from a new, closer, and behind-the scenes-perspective. I’ve had superfans of my boss’s work come into my office and I’ve played a role that I never imagined myself in – gatekeeper! This new position in the world of fandom and pulling the curtain back has further shaped these rules.

This is all to say that we hope you find these rules helpful, but don’t just take our word for it! Try these out for the next time you Just Can’t Even.

–Victoria

 

  1. Hide your crazy at all costs.  Don’t scream and for the love of God don’t cry. Not saying that you shouldn’t be proud and celebrate being a fan and GET EXCITED, but when face-to-face with your fave, we’ve learned it’s best to Disguise Your Crazy Until a more Appropriate Time.
  2. Don’t wear fangear of any sorts – dress like you’re on a date because you basically are. Dress for the occasion: Be mindful of your surroundings. If you’re heading into your business’s office on May the 4th, it’s probably a good idea to leave your all-out Stormtrooper uniform at home. But a Her Universe Princess Leia dress? Go for it!
  3. Be on the barricade or go home. This is tough but true: your fave will rarely have enough time to talk to everyone (even if they want to), and there are times when they’re whisked away by powers you can’t control — mainly security. All I’m saying is your spot on the barricade is usually worth it!
  4. If you want to be on the barricade or close at all, think of the most obnoxiously early time you could arrive, and then get there two hours before that. The meeting and selfie will be worth waking up at the ungodly hour, trust me.
  5. Make friends with security. Panic at the Disco’s security guy Zach once took a picture of their tour bus for me after I made polite conversation with him. Also, security can kick you out so, you know, best to listen to them.
  6. Don’t take the bait when the other fans start name-dropping. This was a kind of toxic behavior I started to observe at stage doors. There seemed to be a hierarchy as to who in the fandom was the most prestigious to meet and then people would go back and forth as to who met who and how many times and whose interaction was more personal. One of the most amazing aspects of fandom is it’s power to unite strangers in their love for something and this felt like it undermined the ability for our faves to do just that by assigning currency to them.
  7. Mentally prepare yourself for them to be better looking in person. Believe me, I don’t know how it’s possible either.
  8. Talk about their achievements as an artist and the more obscure a project you reference, the better. 
  9. Selfie over an autograph. We live in a world of pics or it didn’t happen; that being said, if someone says no photos, you gotta respect it.
  10. Be a fan of yourself first! The most important rule – This for me was the hardest to learn but it’s the most important. I got to really weird wonky place by not following this rule. I think when you’re a fan of yourself first, these rules are pretty easy to follow.

 

3 thoughts on “The 10 Rules of Fangirling Like a Pro

  1. I was not prepared for Hayley Atwell when I met her randomly during SDCC. I cried in the middle of telling her how Peggy’s strength of facing a life without Steve Rogers in it helped me find strength in facing a life without my parents in it.

    I was recently on tbe barricade at the Justice League premiere and some autograph hounds came up behind me and kept the actors away. It was really annoying.

    I also thnk sometimes you have to take a chance and break the rules. I was at a Chad Michael Murray book signing and the security guy said no personal signings (all the books were presigned) but I asked if he could sign my Agent Carter poster that I have signed by around 20 other people. He was impressed and signed it.

    I took a similar chance with Michael Shanks and asked for a picture at a Creation Con when the con had wrapped up.

    Now recently I was in SD for SDCC and my friend knew where the Doctor Who actors were staying. I tagged along and was happy to see that my gut instinct was true: Jack Davenport was there with his wife! But I did not persue a meeting as they were racing to get in. Somehow my friend got a selfie with Michelle Gomez. I didn’t get any photo, or try. Just knowing Jack was there was good enough. Thankfully an assistant posted a picture from the panel and Jack was there, so I have proof that he was at the con. 😀 I will meet him on another occasion, one that is more professional.

    Like

    1. Jennifer, thank you so much for sharing all of your amazing fangirl encounter experiences! It seems like you know exactly how to make the rules work for you and when to take a risk and break them! I totally would have cried meeting Hayley Atwell too 🙂 and can’t believe you were on the barricade for the Justice League Premiere!!!! Thanks again for your time and insights – we must hear more in the future!!

      Like

  2. Jennifer, thank you so much for sharing all of your amazing fangirl encounter experiences! It seems like you know exactly how to make the rules work for you and when to take a risk and break them! I totally would have cried meeting Hayley Atwell too 🙂 and can’t believe you were on the barricade for the Justice League Premiere!!!! Thanks again for your time and insights – we must hear more in the future!!

    Like

Leave a comment